'Monsieur Lazhar' leads Jutra noms

Fellag in Monsieur Lazhar. Courtesy eOne films.
Canada's Oscar nominee Monsieur Lazhar gets another big push this award season. It leads Les Prix Jutras - Quebec's film awards - avec 9 nominations, including Best Pic, Best Director, and Best Actor for Fellag. I'm a bit peeved with the Frenchies today, though, because my favourite Québécois film of 2011, Café de Flore, got the shaft in the Best Picture category, despite nabbing a Best Director nom for Jean-Marc Vallée, a Best Actress nom, and some props for a slew technical awards. To add insult to injury, one film that is nominated in lieu of Café is Nuit #1, which I panned at TIFF - it wasn't the 10 minutes of real sex that offended me, it was the ensuing 70 minutes of insufferable dialogue. (I will admit that actress Catherine de Léan deserves her nomination, if not the win.) Also popping up again this season is the Oscar-nominated animated short Dimanche/Sunday by Patrick Doyon. 

Anyhoo, joining Monsieur Lazhar and Nuit #1 in competition for the top prize is Starbuck (which is also a Genie nominee for Best Film) and Le venduer, which got some notice after being named one of Canada's Top Ten by TIFF in December. (It opens in Toronto this Friday.)

The nominees are:

Meilleur film:
Coteau Rouges
Monsieur Lazhar
Nuit #1
Le vendeur

Meilleur réalisateur:
Anne Emond, Nuit #1
Phillippe Falardeau, Monsieur Lazhar
Micheline Lanctôt, Pour l’amour de Dieu
Ken Scott, Starbuck
Jean-Marc Vallée, Café de Flore

Meilleure actrice
Céline Bonnier, Coteau Rouge
Catherine de Léan, Nuit #1
Julie le Breton, Une vie qui commence
Vanessa Paradis, Café de Flore
Madeleine Péloquin, Pour l’amour de Dieu

Meilleur acteur
Fellag, Monsieur Lazhar
Patrick Huard, Starbuck
Charles-Antoine Perreault, Une vie qui commence
Mario Saint-Amand, Gerry
Gilbert Sicotte, Le venduer

Meilleure actrice de soutien
Sandrine Bisson, La peur de l’eau
Anick Lemay, Frisson des collines
Sophie Nélisse, Monsieur Lazhar
Louise Portal, Le Bonheur des autres
Sonia Vachon, Le sens de l’humour

Meilleur acteur de soutien
Antoine Bertrand, Frisson des collines
Nicolas Canuel, La run
Émilien Néron, Monsieur Lazhar
François Papineau, Une vie qui commence
Mario Saint-Amand, Coteau rouge

Meilleur scénario
Coteau Rouge
Monsieur Lazhar
La run
Le vendeur

Full list of nominations can be found here.
Awards will be handed out March 11.