Ottawa International Animation Festival Award Winners

The winners for the 2013 Ottawa International Animation Festival were handed out tonight. The awards, presented in a ceremony at St. Brigid's Centre for the Arts, acknowledged the best in the festival seemed by jurors for the short film and feature film competitions. The winners are:

-Nelvana Grand Prize for Independent Short Animation: Lonely Bones, Rosto
***as the winner of this prize, film is now eligible for competition for Best Animated Short at the Academy Awards.
-Grand Prize for Feature Animation: Tito on Ice, Max Andersson & Helena Ahonen.
Honorable Mention: The Boy and the World, Ale Abreu
-Best Narrative Animation: Oh Willy, Emma de Swaef and Marc James Roels
-Best Experimental/Abstract Animation: Virtuoso Virtual, Thomas Stellmach & Maja Oschmann
-Best Promotional Animation: 50e Anniversaire de la Cinemateque Quebecoise, Diane Obomsawin
-Best Television Animation Made for Adults: Archer 'Coyote Lovely' (Bryan Fordney)
-Best Television Animation Made for Kids: Regular Show 'A Bunch of Full Grown Geese' (JG Quintel)
-Honorable mentions: SpongeBob Squarepants 'It's a SpongeBob Christmas' (Mark Caballero & Seamus Walsh), Adventure Time 'A Glitch is a Glitch' (David O'Reilly)
-Best Short Animation Made for Kids: Written by a Kid 'La Munkya' (Roque Ballesteros).
Honorable mentions:  Tome of the Unknown (Patrick McHale), The Little Blond Boy with a White Sheep (Eloi Henriod)
-Best Music Video Animation: Stuck in Sound 'Let's Go' (Alexis Beaumont & Remi Godin)
-Best Undergraduate Animation: Rolling Safari (Kyra Buschor, Constantin Paeplow & Anna Habermehl)
-Walt Disney Prize for Best Graduate Animation: But Milk is Important (Eirik Gronmo Bjornsen & Anna Mantzaris)
Honorable mention: Na Ni Nu Ne No No (Manabu Himeda)
-Best High School Animation: Abduction Milk Cow (Shin Hye Kim, Woo Sol Lee & Hyun Ji Yoon)
-Best Canadian Student Animation: Wind & Tree (Konstantin Steshenko), honorable mention: Blackout (Sharron Mirsky)
-Best Animated School Showreel: Tama Art University, Japan
-Canadian Film Institute Award for Best Canadian Animation: Two Weeks -Two Minutes (Judith Poirier)
Honorable Mentions: The Clockmakers (Renaud Hallee), Crossing Victoria (Steven Woloshen)
-Public Prize: But Milk is Important (Eirik Gronmo Bjornsen & Anna Mantzaris)

See the winners when the Best of the Festival screens Sunday, Sept. 22 at 7:00 pm and 9:15 pm at the ByTowne Cinema.