'12 Years a Slave' Leads Online Film Critics Society Awards

The Online Film Critics Society announced the winners for their 17th annual awards today. The OFCS, of which I’m a member, have the top honour to Steve McQueen’s 12 Years a Slave, which was the biggest winner overall with five awards. Gravity came second with four honours including Best Director for Alfonso Cuarón and a special award for Sound Design and Visual Effects. The late Roger Ebert was also given a special award for inspiring so many members of the OFCS. The group also released a list of the Top Ten Films Without a U.S. Release.

The full list of winners is as follows

Best Picture: 12 Years a Slave
Best Animated Feature: The Wind Rises
Best Film Not in the English Language: Blue Is the Warmest Color
Best Documentary: The Act of Killing
Best Director: Alfonso Cuarón - Gravity
Best Actor: Chiwetel Ejiofor - 12 Years a Slave
Best Actress: Cate Blanchett - Blue Jasmine
Best Supporting Actor: Michael Fassbender - 12 Years a Slave
Best Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong'o - 12 Years a Slave
Best Original Screenplay: Her - Spike Jonze
Best Adapted Screenplay: 12 Years a Slave - John Ridley
Best Editing: Gravity - Alfonso Cuarón, Mark Sanger
Best Cinematography: Gravity, Emmanuel Lubezki

Special Awards:
Best Sound Design and Best Visual Effects to Gravity
To Roger Ebert, for inspiring so many of our members

Top Ten films Without a U.S. Release:
Closed Curtain
Like Father, Like Son
Our Sunhi
The Rocket
Stranger By the Lake
We Are the Best!
Le Weekend
Why Don't You Play in Hell?