Ottawa Independent Video Award Nominations

A still from Christopher Rohde's Odd One Out, which is nominated for 2 OIVA awards.
The nominations are out for the inaugural Ottawa Independent Video Awards, which are spearheaded by SAW Video and celebrate the best independent filmmaking in the Ottawa/Gatineau area. The list of nominees was first released last week, but now that the films have been named in addition to the directors, I’m happy to give a rundown of the local stuff in competition for the awards. Here are the nominees for the first OIVA awards (which I’m calling the Ovies until something catchier comes along) with links to films, clips, or trailers where available. Overall, it's a good mix of films from established independents and up-and-comers alike with some strong works from a diverse group of filmmakers. The awards will be handed out Saturday, April 11 in Arts Court Theatre.

Best Director - Documentary

Modulo by Travis Boisvenue
Henny’s Opus in B Minor by Andrew Conte
68 années de l’hiver by Randy Alexander Cruz
Muneeza in the Middle by Hoda Elatawi
The Rink Guy by Xu Fangliang
Partners for Peace by Ed Kucerak

Best Director - Experimental    

Go Nihon by Izabel Barsive
Joan by Pixie Cram
Bodies of Water by Cheryl Pagurek
Big Dick – Give Up by Lesley Marshall
Odd One Out by Christopher Rohde
Unseen Ottawa by Alex Sutcliffe

Best Director - Music Video    

Boyhood – Thailand by Travis Boisvenue
Hilotrons – My Number by Craig Conoley
Big Dick – Give Up by Lesley Marshall
Radical Face – We All Go the Same by Morgana McKenzie (song)

Best Director Under 25    

New Swears – Candy Land by Sammy Lewis
Radical Face – We All Go the Same by Morgana McKenzie
Brooklyn K9 by Tyler Pearce
Trois by Cory Thibert

Best Director - Narrative    

Jackie Boy by Cody Campanale
Full Tilt by Magill Foote
Odd One Out by Christopher Rohde

Rob Thompson Award    

-This award "recognizes an individual from the Ottawa-Gatineau region who has persevered as a media artist and contributed as a mentor or community builder."
Izabel Barsive
Ed Kucerak

The Ottawa Independent Video Awards will be handed out on Saturday, April 11 at 8:00pm in Arts Court.
Tickets are $25 or $30 at the door.

Please visit http://www.oiva.ca/awards-gala/ for more info.