'The Favourite' Leads Online Film Critics Society Awards Nominations

Rachel Weisz and Olivia Colman star in The Favourite
Courtesy Fox Searchlight Pictures
Yorgos Lanthimos's period satire The Favourite leads the nominations for the 22nd annual Online Film Critics Society Awards. The organization, of which I am a member, is the oldest and longest running international group supporting film culture in the online sphere.

The Favourite leads the awards with eight nominations followed by Alfonso Cuarón's Golden Lion winner Roma with seven and Barry Jenkins' adaptation of James Baldwin's If Beale Street Could Talk with six. The other nominees represent a range of genres and voices from both independent and studio filmmaking with the Best Picture category rounded out by Alex Garland's sci-fi mind-bender Annihilation, Spike Lee's searing satire BlacKkKlansman, Bo Burnham's coming-of-age film Eighth Grade, Paul Schrader's environmental parable First ReformedAri Aster's horror flick Hereditary, Bradley Cooper's musical romance A Star is Born, Luca Guadagnino's re-imagining of Suspiria, and Lynne Ramsay's arthouse thriller You Were Never Really Here. Previous films named Best Picture by the OFCS include Get Out, Mad Max: Fury Road, Moonlight, The Grand Budapest Hotel, and 12 Years a Slave.

The full list of nominees are:

Best Picture
Eighth Grade
The Favourite
First Reformed
If Beale Street Could Talk
A Star Is Born
You Were Never Really Here

Best Director
Alfonso Cuarón – Roma
Barry Jenkins – If Beale Street Could Talk
Yorgos Lanthimos – The Favourite
Spike Lee – BlacKkKlansman
Lynne Ramsay – You Were Never Really Here

Best Actor
Christian Bale – Vice
Bradley Cooper – A Star Is Born
Ethan Hawke – First Reformed
Joaquin Phoenix – You Were Never Really Here
John David Washington – BlacKkKlansman

Best Actress
Yalitza Aparicio – Roma
Toni Collette – Hereditary
Olivia Colman – The Favourite
Regina Hall – Support the Girls
Lady Gaga – A Star Is Born

Best Supporting Actor
Mahershala Ali – Green Book
Adam Driver – BlacKkKlansman
Richard E. Grant – Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Michael B. Jordan – Black Panther
Steven Yeun – Burning

Best Supporting Actress
Elizabeth Debicki – Widows
Regina King – If Beale Street Could Talk
Thomasin McKenzie – Leave No Trace
Emma Stone – The Favourite
Rachel Weisz – The Favourite

Best Original Screenplay
Eighth Grade – Bo Burnham
The Favourite – Deborah Davis, Tony McNamara
First Reformed – Paul Schrader
Roma – Alfonso Cuarón
Sorry to Bother You – Boots Riley

Best Adapted Screenplay
BlacKkKlansman – Charlie Wachtel, David Rabinowitz, Kevin Willmott, Spike Lee
Can You Ever Forgive Me? – Nicole Holofcener, Jeff Whitty
If Beale Street Could Talk – Barry Jenkins
Leave No Trace – Debra Granik, Anne Rossellini
Widows – Gillian Flynn, Steve McQueen

Best Editing
The Favourite – Yorgos Mavropsaridis
First Man – Tom Cross
Mission: Impossible – Fallout – Eddie Hamilton
Roma – Alfonso Cuarón, Adam Gough
Widows – Joe Walker

Best Cinematography
Cold War – Lukasz Zal
The Favourite – Robbie Ryan
First Man – Linus Sandgren
If Beale Street Could Talk – James Laxton
Roma – Alfonso Cuarón

Best Original Score
Black Panther – Ludwig Göransson
First Man – Justin Hurwitz
If Beale Street Could Talk – Nicholas Britell
Isle of Dogs – Alexandre Desplat
Suspiria – Thom Yorke

Best Animated Feature
Incredibles 2
Isle of Dogs
Ralph Breaks the Internet
Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

Best Debut Feature
Ari Aster – Hereditary
Bo Burnham – Eighth Grade
Bradley Cooper – A Star Is Born
Carlos López Estrada – Blindspotting
Boots Riley – Sorry to Bother You

Best Film Not in the English Language
Cold War

Best Documentary
Free Solo
Minding the Gap
Three Identical Strangers
Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

Winners will be announced on January 2, 2019.